BAY COUNTY Health Department

Environmental Health Division

1212 Washington Avenue - Bay City, MI 48708 Phone (989) 895-4006 Fax (989) 895-4014

Food For Thought Spring 2013

FOOD SERVICE APPLICATIONS AND FEES ARE DUE BY APRIL 30! DON'T BE LATE!

- Please review, fill in section 6, and return the application with the appropriate fees.
- Send in food application by April 30th (make sure postmarked by April 30)
- 50% late fee applied May 1st—May 31st
- 100% late fee applied June 1st



Thomas L. Hickner County Executive

Barbara M. MacGregor, RN BSN Health Director

Joel Strasz, Manager Public Health Services Manager

Environmental Health Staff

Sue Gadille, R.S.
Joel Kwiatkowski, R.S.
Daniel Dicks, R.S,
Joette Phelps, Secretary

Visit our Web Site:

www.baycountymi.gov/health

MICHIGAN FOOD SAFTEY

Visit <u>www.michigansafety.com</u> for great charts, posters and information. This web site was established by the Michigan Restaurant Association & Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development.

FOOD LAW UPDATE

The Michigan Modified Food Code of 2009 has been adopted by Michigan Food Law (act 92 of 2000, as amended) effective October 1, 2012. Copies of the Modified Food Code are available for download at: www.michigan.gov/foodsafety.

Sanitarians have been going over the changes during inspections conducted since October 1, 2012 and giving out a flyer with Key Changes to the Michigan Food Law and Food Code. A copy of the flyer is included in the mailing with Food For Thought.

SERVSAFE FOOD SAFETY TRAINING

- \Rightarrow Class will be held May 6 & 13 4:00pm—8:00 pm each day
- ⇒ Fee Not-for-Profit \$120, other organizations \$150
- \Rightarrow Call (989) 895-4006 option 3 to register
- ⇒ Establishments including Mobile & STFU's must have a Person-in-Charge (PIC) certified
- ⇒ PIC certifications are valid for 5 years
- ⇒ Future classes will be held in the fall of 2013

RESTAURANT INSPECTIONS

As of February 2013 all Bay County restaurants inspections are available on our web site www.baycounty-mi.gov/health.

MICHIGAN SMOKE-FREE LAW

Smoking has been prohibited in all food establishments since 2011. All Owner/Manager/Person-in-Charge are to make sure they are incompliance with the law. The Bay County Health Department is responsible for the enforcement of the law in Bay County.

Fines of \$100 for the first violation and up to \$500 for any subsequent violations will be levied. Failure to comply with the Smoke Free law can result in the forfeiture of your license.

SPOTLIGHT ON: NOROVIRUS

- ⇒ Transmitted by infected food handlers or touching contaminated objects and eating without proper hand washing
- ⇒ Known as "Stomach Flu"
- ⇒ Highly contagious
- ⇒ Can be contagious two (2) weeks after recovery
- ⇒ Hand washing is best defense
- ⇒ Symptoms: nausea, vomiting, diarrhea and cramps

"WHAT TO DO DURING AN FBI (FOODBORNE ILLNESS INVESTIGATION)"

Foodborne illness investigations are warranted when illnesses involving two or more unrelated cases having similar foodborne features or involving the same pathogen; single incidents of certain rare foodborne pathogens. Hopefully, you will never have to experience a foodborne illness investigation, but if for some reason you do, keep in mind the following:

- 1. Be courteous and not defensive. Just because we are conducting an investigation, doesn't mean we are certain your establishment is the source. Inspectors are there to assess if something could have happened that led to illness, or gain insight about another potential source. They may determine that your practices are outstanding and no cause for concern.
- 2. *Be honest*. If something has gone wrong, or if you had an ill food worker, report it. Withholding information can lead to bigger problems. Tell inspectors what they need to know, and any corrective actions you have taken. This shows that you are responsible and trustworthy.
- 4. If the inspector sees problems, address them right away. This shows that you care to do the right thing. Whether or not your establishment was the cause, the inspector can help you learn safer ways to do things so you do not have problems in the future.
- 5. Do not blow off the inspector's conclusion. If the inspector tells you at the end of the inspection that it seems very likely your practices led to illness, do not disregard their assessment. Just because they do not have a lab report that shows a certain food was contaminated doesn't mean it didn't happen. If your practices are unsafe, and you are the common link between those who are ill, statistically, you are the likely source. You may also make others sick in the future. And, if illness continues due to poor food safety practices at your establishment, you can face closure in an effort to protect public health.
- 6. *Food safety is a partnership*. It's our job not only to protect the public, but also to help you serve the safest food possible— keeping you a successful business!

KNOW THE NEW FDA FOOD CODE: RISK BASED INSPECTIONS & VIOLATIONS

With the adoption of the 2009 FDA Food Code, Michigan has changed the terminology used to designate violations to Priority (P), Priority Foundation (Pf), and Core (C). The way we score these violations and assess points has also changed.

Priority (P) items are violations that have a direct connection to preventing foodborne illness and correction is a priority.

Priority foundation (Pf) items require specific actions, equipment or procedures by management to control risk factors such as personnel training, equipment, documentation, record keeping, and labeling.

Core (C) items are usually related to general sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating procedures (SOPs), facilities or structures, equipment design, or general maintenance.